Kat’s FFBC Tour Stop: Tiger Queen by Annie Sullivan

Title: Tiger Queen

Author: Annie Sullivan

Publisher: Blink

Release Date: September 10, 2019

Goodreads Description: From Annie Sullivan, author of A Touch of Gold, comes Tiger Queen, a sweeping YA fantasy adventure that tells the story of a fierce desert princess battling to save her kingdom. Fans of Rebel of the Sands and Meagan Spooner will devour this retelling of Frank Stockton’s famous short story, “The Lady, or the Tiger?”

In the mythical desert kingdom of Achra, an ancient law forces sixteen-year-old Princess Kateri to fight in the arena to prove her right to rule. For Kateri, winning also means fulfilling a promise to her late mother that she would protect her people, who are struggling through windstorms and drought. The situation is worsened by the gang of Desert Boys that frequently raids the city wells, forcing the king to ration what little water is left. The punishment for stealing water is a choice between two doors: behind one lies freedom, and behind the other is a tiger.

But when Kateri’s final opponent is announced, she knows she cannot win. In desperation, she turns to the desert and the one person she never thought she’d side with. What Kateri discovers twists her world—and her heart—upside down. Her future is now behind two doors—only she’s not sure which holds the key to keeping her kingdom and which releases the tiger.

Mid-Book Review: Normally I would wait til I finished a book to review it. However, it is my scheduled date for the blog tour. This is my second YA Fantasy book and I’m pretty sure that it is not the genre for me. Even though this book isn’t really peaking my interest, I can tell it has everything to be a YA Fantasy hit. The book starts out with Princess Kateri is in the midst of a challenge where she has to defeat so many men in order to win the throne from her father. If she loses then she has to marry the man she lost to. When she meets her final competitor she realizes that maybe she is being set up for failure.

In true teenage fashion she runs away from home and teams up with a group of young boys that are treated as villians when they are more like Robin Hood and his merry men of the desert trying to get water to help people survive. It is during this time that she starts to find herself and find out that her father isn’t the man she thought.

Will Kateri turn her back on her bloodline to help her people or will she continue to reign with fear or coercion?

🌟🌟🌟🌟 (4 out of 5 stars) As I said this just isn’t my genre of book so it has been a struggle for me to read it. Annie’s writing is so fantastic though. Her detailed writing makes me feel like I’m really in the desert. It probably doesn’t help its been close to 100 degrees here this week. Her graphic detail of the food had me cringing at times. I would never survive in the desert for many reasons but the food may be the main reason if it’s anything like they were eating in this book.
tiger.

Annie Sullivan is a Young Adult author from Indianapolis, Indiana. Her work has been featured in Curly Red Stories and Punchnels. She loves fairytales, everything Jane Austen, and traveling and exploring new cultures. When she’s not off on her own adventures, she’s teaching classes at the Indiana Writers Center and working as the Copy Specialist at John Wiley and Sons, Inc. publishing company, having also worked there in Editorial and Publicity roles. You can follow her adventures on Twitter and Instagram (@annsulliva).

(Posts in red were not published by the blogger.)

September 4

That Artsy Reader Girl – Welcome Interview

September 5

!Library of a Book Witch – Book Review
!Abellafairytale – Book Review
*Feed Your Fiction Addiction – Book Review
*Careful of Books – Book Review
*Faery Tales Are Real – Book Review

September 6

!Starlight Reads – Book and Book Cover Review
*Sometimes Leelynn Reads – Book Review, Creative Post (Playlist/Dream Cast)
&The Caffeinated Reader – Book Review + Favorite Quotes
!Lost In Storyland – Book Review
&Portals of Paper and Ink – Book Review, Book Aesthetic/Mood Board
&Bookishly Nerdy – Book Review, Creative Post

September 7

*Adventurous Bookworm – Book Review, Author Q&A
*Confessions of a YA Reader – Book Review + Favorite Quotes
!Moonlight Rendezvous – Book Review + Favorite Quotes
A Book Addict’s Bookshelf – Author Guest Post
*A Court of Coffee and Books – Book Review + Favorite Quotes
&Belle’s Archive – Book Review + Favorite Quotes
Nay’s Pink Bookshelf – Creative Post

September 8

*Lisa Loves Literature – Book Review, Author Interview (re-share)

!Clarissa Reads It All – Book Review + Favorite Quotes

One In a Million – Author Guest Post
!The Shelf Life Chronicles – Book Review + Favorite Quotes
&Book Butterfly In Dreamland – Book Review
&Fictitiouswonderland – Bookstagram Review

*Becky’s Book Blog – Book Review + Favorite Quotes

September 9

&A Fictional Bookworm – Book Review + Favorite Quotes
*Devouring Books – Book Review + Favorite Quotes
&&The Book Dutchesses – Buddy Book Review + Favorite Quotes

!Story-eyed Reviews – Book Review
*Sereadipity – Book Review + Favorite Quotes

September 10

*Star Is All Booked Up – Book Review, Bookstagram Post
&To All the Books I’ve Read Before – Book Review
&Angela Walker’s Reviews – Book Review
&Cinnamon Summers – Book Review
&Reading Under the Covers – Book Review
*Mahkjchi’s Not-So-Secret Books – Book Review, Creative Post
&The Baroness of Books – Book Review, Creative Post (Quiz)

September 11

*TBR and Beyond – Book Review + Favorite Quotes
!Book Nerd Anonymous – Book Review, Creative Post
!Paper Reader – Book Review
*Wishful Endings – Book Review, Author Q&A
&Popthebutterflyreads – Book Review, Creative Post

Head over to Amazon and you can purchase the ebook for $9.99

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B07KDZ7CG4/ref=tmm_kin_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1568247746&sr=8-1

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s